Magic

In my life I have been called many things.  As I child I was called a joy to be around, a grew into a great student and a wonderfully smart child and as the years passed a became a happy hyper teenager who was always thanked for being helpful and they would say I could always be counted on.  I’ve always been sweet;  I’ve always been a great friend;  I’ve always been smart and talented.  I was never beautiful, I’m not a supermodel and I know this.  I’ve always been the friend you can count on when it matters most and nothing more.

Now before you start questioning my words or start trying to compliment…let me explain.

For as long as I can remember, all I’ve ever wanted was to make people happy and I don’t mean because I give them what they want.  People don’t always deserve their selfish desires, they do however deserve that friend who can always look on the bright side, who can pick up their pieces not because they have to but because they want to.  People deserve to have someone at their side who is tangible and accessible.  We all have God if we welcome Him, but sometimes its important to have someone who will answer the phone in the middle of the night or who will be your sounding board when you think your crazy.  Someone to hold your hand when your scared or make you smile when you think you’ve lost it all.  I am proud to say that I have been that friend and I do my best to be that friend to those who deserve it.  It makes me happy that people are happy when they are around me.  And I deserve to be happy.

I think as we grow up people forget whats important.  They get consumed in their own lives and desires and they forget who was there for them or who might actually need them.. they are too busy to take that ten minutes to care.  Those are the people who lay down at night and cant figure out where everyone is at.   All that aside, I don’t ever want to be that person.

I want to take a moment to thank some people today.  I have cried more probably in the last year than I have in many years, but not out of sadness.  Its because I am so unbelievably thankful for the people I have been blessed with.   I have been called sweet, talented, amazing, strong and magic.  The five people that these words belong to are the most important people in my life and I’m not sure they really understand what they mean to me.

I want to share with you some words that have really meant the world to me in just the last six months.

“I really caught lightning in a bottle when I found you…”
“You have more talent in your pinky finger than most people have their whole lives…”
“Your too sweet for me…”
“Not talking to you is like a flower not getting water…”
“Your smart & beautiful & a joy to be around…”
“She is, in fact, MAGIC!”
“Your an amazing girl and deserve nothing less than the best…”

I try to be amazing and beautiful and accountable and happy.  You guys, however, make me who I am.  I am but a compilation of all the people who have walked in and out of my life in my 28 years and I’m unbelievably thankful.

Leave a Reply

