Winter Woes

If you don’t know me, you might not know. I hate winter. HATE.  It’s the only thing I truly hate.   I saw 10 inches of snow for the 1st time in my life & watched people who grew up in this awful weather spin their tires & slide their cars into ditches.  Worst of all its the only time I get sick.  I normally only get sick once.  This year I got it twice.

The worst part is I’m craving comfort foods…normally when I’m sick I go to KFC & buy chicken tenders, mashed potatoes & macaroni.  I’m trying to stick to my vegetarian-ism so I’m making homemade soup today.

Today’s recipe is White Bean Potato Soup.

5-6 red potatoes (about 4 cups chopped)
1 can cannellini beans, rinsed (white kidney)
1/2c chopped onion (to taste)
1/2 celery stalk, chopped finely
1 carrot, grated or chopped
2 tsp powder vegetable broth stock
2 garlic bulbs, chopped
White pepper, to taste

Put all ingredients in pot (except beans) cover with water & boil till potatoes are soft.  Then rinse beans & add to pot, reduce heat & simmer for 15ish minutes.

If you can’t find or don’t have powdered broth or bouillon you can boil potatoes first, strain some of the water out and add a cup or 2 of canned/boxed broth.

I topped my soup with shredded cheese & chopped green onions.  As with all my recipes, it’s very easy to adjust or add/subtract for your taste buds.  Simple is my kind of recipe!

Leave a Reply

